Easter Seals, Inc. Reviews and Ratings | Chicago, IL | Donate, Volunteer, Review

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Centers to Support the Independence of Specific Populations, Health, Health Care, Human Services, Job Training, Rehabilitative Care, Vocational Rehabilitation

Mission: Easter Seals” mission is to provide exceptional services to ensure all people with disabilities or special needs and their families have equal opportunities to live, learn, work and play in their communities.

Programs: Easter Seals is the leading non-profit provider of services for individuals with autism, developmental disabilities, physical disabilities and other special needs. For more than 85 years, we have been offering help and hope to children and adults living with disabilities, and to the families who love them. Through therapy, training, education and support services, Easter Seals creates life-changing solutions so that people with disabilities can live, learn, work and play. Easter Seals services benefit 1.3 million children and adults annually through more than 550 centers nationwide, in Puerto Rico and Australia. See great things at www.easterseals.com.

Community Stories

11 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters Filter by Role Volunteer Client Served Professional with expertise in this field General Member of the Public Donor

10

Writer Client Served 12/03/2015

Rating: 1

12/03/2015

I went to Easter seals southern california work first program for assistance when I was unable to find work after leaving the military. I met with a representative who thad me sign lots of paperwork and talked about some very basic aspects of a job search. he couldn’t answer many of my questions. Instead he gave me a “research project” which i completed and email him the next day with some more questions about how I should proceed. I waited two weeks for his reply. I received an email asking me if i was working yet and had mention of my questions. he continues to check in every few weeks without meaningfully answering my questions. It seems like he is just waiting for me to get a job so he can take credit.

Share this review: Flag review

10 Bess M.

Bess M. Professional with expertise in this field 03/27/2013

Rating: 1

03/27/2013

I have been working for Easter Seals for 6 years the last 3 has been 40 hrs or more a week and I am part. Time . I do I H B S , P C and Respite I make 830 – 1075 dollars an hour This what I starter working for 6 years ago . What most people Don’t know is Medcaid paids for all these Sever . Now yor tell me who gets all the money from this nonprofit organization ?

Share this review: Flag review

Review from CharityNavigator

I donsated every year for many years to Easter Seals. But as time went on I became more concered about their aggressive marketing (nearly $15 million last year) their inadequate privacy policy and the salary of their CEO (nearly $800,000 last year).

In 2010 I decided to donate elsewhere and notified Easter Seals in writing. A few days ago, in spite of four written requests to be removed from Easter Seals mailing lists I received annother solicitation. These written requests were sent to to EASTER SEALS NATIONAL Hqs by e-mail on 1/18/2010, 1/28/2010, 0/07/2010 and 1/11/2011.

Share this review: Flag review

Review from CharityNavigator

2

sailsk8 Volunteer 10/31/2012

Rating: 5

10/31/2012

I have been involved as a volunteer and donor for over 40 years. I have seen first hand how effective Easter Seals is in making is possible for people – adults and children – with disabilities to achieve their potentials. Their programs are efficient, effective and greatly appreciated by the families they serve. I believe that this rating system that does not really reflect the quality of the services provided.

Share this review: Flag review

Review from CharityNavigator

11

kenlin5 General Member of the Public 04/19/2012

Rating: 2

04/19/2012

For charitable organization, more than $200 in base salary is too much on donor’s dime. People wake up! If the CEO is getting $500+ salary then what about the VP’s? You really should look at the whole top level management but if the CEO is getting over paid then the rest will be not far behind. Don’t donate to these organizations and be outspoken to reform these organizations or the salaries will be even higher!

Share this review: Flag review

Review from CharityNavigator

My son received services from Easter Seals for several years after having been diagnosed with autism. From the day that I met the people at Easter Seals until my son was ready for school, the therapists and all of the people at Easter Seals were wonderful to me and my family. They truly cared about all of us, and they worked tirelessly to find ways to help.
Even in the bleakest times, they were always there with promise and hope. The were truly marvelous as the worked with all of us. Now my son is ready for school and eager to succeed. Thank you Easter Seals.

Share this review: Flag review

Review from CharityNavigator

Having served as a volunteer for many years, here are facts not shown in the rating by Charity Navigator. Easter Seals serves over 1.4 million people a year. Annual revenues are more than $1.2 billion. Easter Seals receives many accolades for its efficient use of contributed funds and its transparency. The organization receives the highest level of recognition from the Better Business Bureau. It exceeds the best practice standards of the National Health Council. More than all of this, Easter Seals provides exceptional services that helps children and adults with disabilities achieve their dreams and goals every day across the country and around the world.

Share this review: Flag review

Review from CharityNavigator

Easter Seals is a wonderful organization that I have supported a very long time. I am dismayed that Charity Navigator does a real disservice to this organization and donors by using a “Fannie Mae” like financial calculation without looking at the results and impact that programs provided by Easter Seals has. If you look at the lives changed and the families they have helped, you would give them a 4 star plus rating. I have supported them for years and will continue to do so.

Share this review: Flag review

Review from CharityNavigator

I can’t say enought about this organization and its wondeful people. When my father had a stroke the people at Easter Seals helped us understand what had happened and what was going to take place and they provide therapy that made improvements almost every day. They are truly caring and remarkable people who deserve my thanks and the support of everyone who wants to help a charity that really does what it says.

Share this review: Flag review

Review from CharityNavigator

As a donor to Easter Seals at both the national and affiliate level, I have been impressed by the accomplishments of the organization’s staff in the lives of the individuals who receive the services. Each individual receives the personal attention necessary to his or her situation, which continues throughout the life of the individual as appropriate, including the families. Easter Seals doesn’t just provide therapy and other services, but also creates an environment in which that help can be as effective as possible. Many of the individuals who receive services from EasterSeals become lifelong advocates and spokespersons for Easter Seals, as do their families. I find this loyalty to Easter Seals to be one of the most reliable measures of the success of an organization’s treatment strategy and mission.

Share this review: Flag review

Review from CharityNavigator

9

Bill Johnson General Member of the Public 06/18/2011

Rating: 1

06/18/2011

Here’s some useful information. In 2009 Jim Williams, Easter Seals CEO, made a little over $700K. In 2010 he got a generous increase to almost $790K. This is all public information, available on any charity’s tax filings. “But organizations must pay top dollar to get the best,” you say? Well, compare that to the top execs at Doctors Without Borders and Feeding America, two charities with larger budgets that pay their top folks far less than Williams gets. The Easter Seals Board must be really out of touch to keep making Williams ultra-wealthy in this time of economic crisis, as families dealing with disabilities weather rising costs while programs are slashed. So shameful. What a squandered legacy.

Share this review: Flag review

Review from CharityNavigator

Source